Tasks are a key function in Assignar. We like to look at Tasks as an anchor ⚓  in Assignar. It how you link different assets, skills, and competencies together so you have the most competent assets & workers to complete the job. 

Types of tasks can be a labourer, operator, traffic controller, 3T excavator etc. If you are unsure what your task should be, chat to our team on the support chat about it. 

Add new task 

There are a few key steps to setting up your tasks right. 

  1. Go to Assets & Tasks > Tasks 
  2. Click Add New Task 
  3. Add Task Name - This is what you call the task i.e. excavator, 3 person crew or labourer 
  4. Add Account Code - This is for your accounting purposes if you're unsure about this chat to our team.
  5. Add External ID - This would be what the task is coded as in your accounting or job costing software. To understand External ID's more chat to our team. 
  6. Add Skills - Note only do this if this is a worker only task, if it is asset & worker you need to link the skills to each individual asset 
  7. Tick Assets Required? - Note only do this if this is an asset and worker task.  If you want all assets to appear, leave the search bar under it blank, if you are after specific assets, then start typing them in
  8. Tick Supervisor, if you need a supervisor to add and sign off on timesheets for this task. 
  9. Add Task Forms - These are the forms that you want your workers to complete out on site. The form will show up in their allocation to complete.
  10. Click Save

Edit a Task 

  1. Click Assets & Tasks > Task > Edit to view and/or update details for an existing task group.
  2. Make changes to the task name, account code, skills, assets, forms or External ID
  3. Click Save when you’ve finished making changes. You will see a message to confirm that the task group has been saved.

Archive a Task 

If you archive a task it will be removed from the task list permanently. Archived tasks are no longer available to select in the drop-down list of task groups when adding or updating a client or project.

  1. Click Assets & Tasks > Task > Archive (red button next to a task group in the task groups list).
  2. You will see a message saying “Are you sure you want to Archive [task group name]?” Click OK (or cancel if you’re not sure).

Note: You can delete the tasks from Archive tasks, however, we don't recommend this because when you delete them from the archive tasks folder you permanently delete all the associated data with it

Add Task Pay Rate Group

  1. Go to Task > Select [Task Name] > Edit 
  2. Select Pay Rates 
  3. Click Add New Rate Group 
  4. Add in the Label of the rate group i.e. Level 1 Weekday Rate 
  5. Add the Priority number in. The priority number is what order the pay rate group shows up when you apply pay rates to a user's timesheet. If you want it to appear first add 1. 
  6. Click Add Item to put in the first pay rule. You must select a code, description, units (hours worked) and rate. 
  7. Repeat this step as many times as applicable 
  8. If you are adding allowances, tick the Inc box so these are always added to every timesheet.

Add Task Charge Rate Group

  1. Go to Task > Select [Task Name] > Edit 
  2. Select Charge Rates 
  3. Click Add New Rate Group 
  4. Add in the Label of the rate group i.e. Level 1 Weekday Rate 
  5. Add the Priority number in. The priority number is what order the charge rate group shows up when you apply charge rates to a user's timesheet. If you want it to appear first add 1. 
  6. Click Add Item to put in the first charge rule. You must select a code, description, units (hours worked) and rate. 
  7. Repeat this step as many times as applicable 
  8. If you are adding allowances, tick the Inc box so these are always added to every timesheet.

Task Groups

Similar tasks can be grouped together into a task group. Task groups may be used when setting up a client or project if you want to restrict which tasks and assets may be used in orders or timesheets for that client or project.

Task Group list

  1. Click Assets & Tasks > Task Groups to see your list of task groups.
  2. Start typing in the search bar to filter the list or search for a specific task group/s, e.g. by name.
  3. Click ˅ or ˄ at the top of any column to sort the list alphabetically (or numerically, depending on the column) in ascending or descending order.
  4. Click the blue Edit button next to a task group to see the details for that task group.

Add a new Task Group

  1. Click Assets & Tasks > Task Groups > Add new Task Group to create a brand new task group.
  2. Enter a task group name. This will appear on task group drop-down lists in project screens.
  3. Click to add one or more tasks that belong to this task group, by selecting from the drop-down list.
  4. Click Select All to add all tasks from the drop-down list, or click Remove All to remove all tasks currently selected for this task group.
  5. Click Save when you’ve finished creating this new task group. You will see a message to confirm that the task group has been added. You can always come back and edit the task group later.

Edit a Task Group

  1. Click Assets & Tasks > Task Groups > Edit to view and/or update details for an existing task group.
  2. Change the task group name. This will appear on task drop-down lists in project screens.
  3. Add or remove any tasks that belong to this task group. Click and select from the drop-down list to add, or click the X to remove. Click Select All to add all tasks from the drop-down list, or click Remove All to remove all tasks currently selected for this task group.
  4. Click Save when you’ve finished making changes. You will see a message to confirm that the task group has been saved.

Delete a Task Group

If you delete a task group it will be removed from the task groups list permanently and it will also be removed from any clients or projects that use that task group. Deleted task groups are no longer available to select in the drop-down list of task groups when adding or updating a client or project.

  1. Click Assets & Tasks > Task Groups > Delete (red button next to a task group in the task groups list).
  2. You will see a message saying “Are you sure you want to delete [task group name]?” Click OK (or cancel if you’re not sure).

Did this answer your question?