Contact groups are a way of grouping together similar or related fieldworkers or contacts who may need to all receive the same notifications or messages. When sending an SMS, you can use a contact group to easily send to multiple workers or contacts at the same time.

Add a new SMS Contact Group

  1. Click SMS > Contact Groups > Add new SMS Group to create a brand new contact group.
  2. Enter a group name. This will appear on the contact group dropdown list when composing an SMS.
  3. Click to select a group type from the dropdown list. This will change the list of recipients available to select below.
  4. Click to add one or more fieldworkers or contacts to this group, by selecting names from the dropdown list.

When a fieldworker is deactivated, they are automatically excluded from the contact group.

  1. Click Save Group when you’ve finished creating this new contact group. You will see a message to confirm that the contact group has been added. You can always come back and edit the contact group later.

Edit a Contact Group

  1. Click SMS > Contact Groups > Edit (blue button next to a contact group in the contact groups list) to view and/or update details for an existing contact group.
  2. Change the contact group name. This will appear on the contact group dropdown list when composing an SMS.
  3. You cannot change the group type of an existing contact group.
  4. Add or remove any fieldworkers or contacts that belong to this contact group. Click and select from the dropdown list of names to add, or click the X to remove.

When a fieldworker is deactivated, they are automatically excluded from the contact group.

  1. Click Save Group when you’ve finished making changes. You will see a message to confirm that the contact group has been saved.

Delete a Contact Group

If you delete a contact group it will be removed from the contact groups list permanently. Deleted contact groups are no longer available to select in the dropdown list of contact groups when composing an SMS.

  1. Click SMS > Contact Groups > Delete (red button next to a contact group in the contact groups list).
  2. You will see a message saying “Are you sure you want to delete [contact group name]?” Click OK (or cancel if you’re not sure).
Did this answer your question?